Tagalog Unicode Script

Philippine writing is known as baybayin. The writing is an abugida from the family of Brahmic writings. Prior to and during the 16th and 17th centuries, it was extensively used in Luzon and other regions of the Philippines before being replaced by the Latin alphabet during the time of Spanish colonisation. It was used in areas where Tagalog was spoken and, to a lesser degree, Kapampangan. In the early 17th century, its use reached the Ilocanos. The baybayin script was used to create the constructed modern Kulitan script of the Kapampangan people and the Ibalnan script of the Palawan people. In the 19th and 20th centuries, baybayin survived and evolved into numerous forms, including the Tagbanwa script of Palawan, the Hanuno'o and Buhid scripts of Mindoro.

Below you will find all the characters that are in the 'Tagalog' unicode script category. Currently there are 23 characters in this category.